Researching

I find joy in researching. Usually, I research an item I’m daydreaming about purchasing like a motorcycle, bike, canoe, bass guitar, or a boat. Or I research players to trade for or pick up on the waiver wire during fantasy football season.

I absorb every fact or opinion I can get my hands on within nonfiction books, blogs, videos, websites, and reviews.

My most favorite story I researched is UNDER. Hands down. I spent weeks combing through nonfiction books about ocean life at different depths around the world, reading Popular Science to learn about amazing new developments in technology, and searching the internet for information on materials that could keep water out of Sans Terra.

My wife bought me the book pictured above so I could finalize the numerous details about the sea life around Sans Terra. I used my combined research as a foundation to build a believable futuristic city 3,960 miles beneath the surface of the Pacific Ocean.

Do you enjoy researching? If so, what? Please share your answer in the comments below.

Leave a comment